Can't view .chm file - Navigation to the webpage was canceled.

After opening .chm (Microsoft Compiled HTML Help) file you may empty an page with generic error message "Navigation to the webpage was canceled".

First off all ensure you are not opening .chm file form a network location. If so just copy file to a local drive.

If file is already saved locally right click on the file and click Properties > Unblock.

Windows XP SP3

Transfer large files with rSync in Windows (byte-level copying)

rSync is very efficient way of transferring files between computers, especially over slow WAN connections. rSync can compress data before transferring, but more importantly if there is similar but not identical file with the same name on the target computer it will only transfer differences instead of the whole file.
rSync can be used as a very efficient offsite backup engine as after initial backup is done, subsequent backups can take minutes instead of hours or even days.

There are many Linux and Windows rSync implementations. In this article I will show how to transfer files between two Windows computers using DeltaCopy.

1. Download DeltaCopy on both source and target computers. For more info and latest versions check here.

2. Prepare target computer:
a. Extract .zip file and run DeltaS.exe
b. Click "Register Windows Service". Select "Use Local Service Account" and click OK
c. Click "Start Server"
d. Change to "Virtual Directories" tab add a new directory (local folder) where your copied files will be saved.

3. Prepare Source Computer:
a. Extract .zip file and run DeltaC.exe
b. Double-click on Add New Profile. Add a new profile using IP address or host name of the target computer you prepared in step 2.
c. In File List tab add files and folders you want to copy.
d. In Options tab you can add additional custom rSync switches. For example -P will keep partially downloaded files (and show transfer progress) so if transfer is interrupted and restarted it will carry on transferring the same file where it finished. Very useful for large files.
e. If required add or modify Schedules to start tasks automatically.

4. To start copying manually on the source computer right click on the Profile Name and click Run Now.

If you added files rather than folders to the copy list you may get an error  in the status window similar to "rsync: change_dir#3 "folder2" (in Backup) failed: No such file or directory (2)".
Check the first line in the status window. It is the executed rSync command. It will be similar to:
Executing: rsync.exe  -v -rlt -z --chmod=a=rw,Da+x --delete -P "//source/folder1/folder2/myfile.pst" "PC-NAME::Backup/folder2/myfile.pst"
Last part of the command (PC-NAME::Backup/folder2/myfile.pst) shows where files will be saved on rSync server (target computer).
Command fails because folder2 does not exist. Simply create this folder on the target computer in the directory you added in step 2d.
Alternatively add folders rather than files to your copy list.

After copying check file permissions on the target server. rSync may not set correct permissions for copied files. Take ownership if necessary. 

To completely remove DeltaCopy service from Target computer run folowing in command prompt (CMD):
sc delete DeltaCopyService


Tested on:
Windows XP SP3







Adobe Reader X (10.0) – problem printing multiple documents

With Adobe PDF Reader you can print multiple documents by selecting them in Windows Explorer > Right mouse click > Print.
With version 10.0 we noticed problem -  after first document is printer empty Adobe Reader X window opens. Only after it's manually closed second document is printer and so on.

This seems to be caused by newly introduced Adobe Reader "Protected Mode"
Open Adobe Reader X > Edit > Preferences > General - Uncheck "Enable Protected Mode at startup"
Caution: Protected mode is a new security feature in Adobe Reader X and by disabling it you potentially increase security risks.

Adobe Reader X (10.0.1)
Windows XP

Gmail IMAP via Outlook - duplicated sent emails

If you have Gmail mailbox configured in Outlook 2010 via IMAP you may end up with two copies of every sent email. This happens because Outlook by default saves all send items in Gmail sent folder and Gmail also saves all emails sent though their SMTP server.

To fix the issue you need to change Outlook configuration so it stops saving sent items. One copy will be still saved (as long as you use Gmail SMTP).

Outlook 2010 > File > Info > Account Settings > [gmail account] > Change > More Settings > Sent Items - select "Do not save copies of sent items"

Outlook 2010 - Stops saving sent items

Outlook 2003 behaves differently. By default it saves sent items in "Personal Folders" Sent Items and you end up with two copies of sent emails in two different locations. One in Outlook "Personal Folders" Sent Items and one in Gmail IMAP Sent Items.
You can stop Outlook 2003 from saving sent emails altogether (they will be still saved in Gmail if you user Gmail SMTP). This will affect all accounts however.
Outlook 2003 > Tools > Options > Preferences > Email Options - uncheck "Save copies of messages in Sent Items folder"
Alternatively you can create Outlook rule to move sent items to another folder.

Outlook 2003
Outlook 2010
Gmail
Google mail

Newsletter

Subscribe to receive occasional updates on new posts.
Your email will not be used for any other purpose and you can unsubscribe at any time.
Please wait